Posted in Recipes

Zesty Lemonade

img_3463

In recent years, from shopping at farmers markets, I’ve learned the actual seasons for fruits and veggies.  Growing up I never thought about it much; it just never occurrred to me that each fruit and vegetable had a designated season.  I mean no matter how much you crave strawberries in winter, they are never as good as summer berries! These days I look forward to each season’s unique produce selection.

Now traditionally lemonade is a summer drink.  You’re supposed to sit on your porch swing with a glass of icy cold lemonade and a good book, right? Not always. I apologize in advance to all the people who love summer, lemonade, and porch swings, but I have a confession:  I drink lemonade in the winter curled up on my couch watching YouTube.

The problem isn’t with the porch swing (trust me, I really want one!), the problem is that lemons are a winter fruit.  When you buy them in winter their peels are thin and smooth which produces zest that is more plentiful and florally fragrant.  Plus they’re more sweet and juicy.  And when blessed with all that lemony goodness what would you make but lemonade!

Homemade Zesty Lemonade Recipe

Ingredients:

3 liters water
juice of 5 lemons
zest of 3 lemons
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 teaspoon citric acid

Directions:

  1. Put 1 liter of water to boil.
  2. Pull out the jug for the lemonade and add the lemon zest, lemon juice, sugar, and cirtic acid.
  3. When the water has boiled slowly pour it into the jug.  Stir with a spoon until the sugar dissolves.
  4. Add the remaining 2 liters of water and mix well together.
  5. Cool the lemonade for about half an hour on the counter before placing it in the fridge to chill.

Waste Not Tip: Don’t throw away the juiced lemon rinds.  Store them in the fridge and add one to the utensil basket of your dishwasher for clean lemony smelling dishes. (One of my chores is dishwasher duty.)

 

 

