Posted in Book of the Month

Book of the Month

January 2016

Because this is the first “Book of the Month” let me first elucidate.  Every month (hopefully!) I’m going to read a book and during the month give an update, such as how I like it so far, if it’s easy or hard to read, and so forth. Then at the end of the month I’ll write a full review and we’ll see if it was worth the time.  (Even if a book is horribly tedious it’s usually still a learning experience!)

The Disappearing Spoon

Disappearing spoon
Written by Sam Kean

This month I’m going to read The Disappearing Spoon.  I actually have already started this book, but even though it’s easy to read it requires commitment.  This is because much focus is needed to grasp all the engrossing details.  So my goal this month is to finish this book.

So far the book has really surprised me.  Initially I was reading it for my science class, but then I really got into it.  I love how easy it is to understand even though the author, Sam Kean, has used such intelligent and technical language.  Another neat feature is that there are footnotes throughout the book that provide additional background information, and because I’m using the ebook it’s convenient to click on the links, read the notes, and resume from where I left off.  The Disappearing Spoon has been both educational and entertaining thus far. I have a feeling it’s going to end very agreeably too!

I finished!  I’m so happy!  The book took a little longer than I expected, but it was all worth it.  To me this book was very unique because it was the stories of different branches of science and more specifically different branches of chemistry presented through the eyes of many scientists.  The author fused together the lenses of politics, history, people, and technology to provide the reader with a comprehensive behind the scenes look at prodigious scientific discoveries.  Although this book feels mature it is perfectly understandable and interesting for younger people too.  I really suggest that you read this book if you’re studying chemistry.  Or if you just love humorous fact filled books!

 

