Posted in Book of the Month

Book of the Month

The Book Thief: End of the Month Review

book thief
Written by Markus Zusak

Markus Zusak is the most talented and innovative author I’ve encountered in a while. Using Death as the narrator gives the book an entirely new perspective, considering that  the story is set in a time when there is so much of it. I appreciate Zusak’s precise, but eloquent style of writing because books with too many adjectives can be tedious reads. I was laughing throughout the whole book and I loved Death’s sarcastic, but truthful voice.

Besides Liesel and Rudy, Hans Hubermann is my favorite character. I loved his devotion to teaching Liesel how to read, and how human he was. He wasn’t particularly brave, but he was inherently good. All of Zusak’s characters had multiple dimensions and I found the motives for their actions intriguing.

The Book Thief is a masterpiece that I urge you to read. The combination of Death’s levity and the gravity of the situation makes the story more believable. This was the most emotionally moving book I’ve read in a long time. I was in tears by the time I read the last line! Ironically I didn’t feel any Book Death.

*Book Death: The feeling of emptiness after finishing a book.  The uncertainty caused by cliffhanger endings.  The wonder of “Well what happens now?”  And the grief caused by the thought of the characters being gone until you read their story again. These are all symptoms of Book Death.  The suggested method of getting over this condition is reading more and more until you can never stop.  Ever!

May vs. June

Although last month’s “Book of the Month” also featured a book set in WWII, All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, there are distinct differences between it and The Book Thief. In All the Light We Cannot See the author focuses on the reactions and inner turmoils of individuals, while the author of The Book Thief focuses on the reactions of a society and family during a crisis. Also in All the Light We Cannot See the narrator is a nameless, opinion-less, and impersonal, while the narrator in The Book Thief has a (chilling) name, a character, and color. These differences don’t make one book better than the other though. Each is intended for a different purpose and shines light on separate issues.

The Book Thief vs. The Book Thief

Unfortunately I haven’t had the chance to watch the movie yet. Hopefully the creators were able to include all the details that make the plot amazing. Previous experience with the movie industry (The Three Musketeers, Percy Jackson, You-Know-Who’s death scene…need I go on?) leaves me doubtful. I’ll just have to wait and see.

