Posted in Book of the Month

Book of the Month

My Lady Jane: End of the Month Review

MyLadyJane
Written by Cynthia hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

I know, I know, this post is long overdue, and I’m sorry it took so long, but I’m finally back. Sadly because it’s already The end of the month, I won’t be posting a Book of the Month for August. But I promise, I have lots of interesting reviews and posts planned. Anyway onto My Lady Jane…

Now as you might’ve noticed I’m a history buff, and yes I do read history books for fun. I learned a lot from this book as far as the English Monarchy goes, and about the customs and traditions of the time. The book provided a lot of details about how the court worked and how the aristocracy lived and interacted.

What set this book apart from the historical fiction books I’ve read lately, some of which I reviewed here, is the fantasy element. The authors’ use of the strife between the magical and non-magical communities to explore the concept of civil war was very creative.

Speaking of the authors, when I heard that each was doing a separate character, I expected to be able to spot the differences in the authors’ writing styles, but all of their writings fit together seamlessly, while maintaining each character’s individual personality and voice. This book’s humor and sarcasm constantly had me laughing out loud!

Overall this was a great read, and if you want something light, but still of literary value I recommend it.

