Posted in Book Reviews

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Review

I know I’m a couple months late with this one, but I was so disappointed I couldn’t bring myself to write it.

harrypottercursedchild.jpeg

From my above statement you probably gathered that this isn’t going to be a positive review, and that’s because J. K. Rowling managed to ruin what made Harry Potter so amazing, Harry Potter.

In the series Harry is brave, smart, and caring. In Harry Potter and the Cursed Child he’s cold, unfeeling, and just all around horrid. I mean one of the main reasons Harry made the decisions he made and interacted with people the way he did was because he didn’t have his parents and he was always seen as “different.” So I don’t understand how he could be such a horrible father to Albus when he didn’t even have one,  and I don’t understand how he wasn’t empathetic to his son’s plight. It was sad to see such an amazing character ruined so he could be used as a plot device. (Which, did it even have a decent plot?)

I hated the ending. Really hated it. If you’re going make a wretched recreation of such a loved character, at least have the decency to let him redeem himself in the end. The only good thing I have to say about this, was that I’m glad that Scorpius was a good character. I mean, we all had a love/hate relationship with Draco Malfoy, right? I secretly always hoped Draco would defy Voldemort in the end, but I had to settle for his cowardly non-participation.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was an epic fail to me, and I’m going to pretend like I never read it. Don’t read it, just don’t.

What were you thinking Rowling? (*cries in anguish*)

