Posted in Book Reviews

Shades of Magic Trilogy

This series is by far one of the best I’ve read this year.

darkershademagic
Written by V.E. Schwab

The series follows a magician (or Antari) and a thief as they try to save their cities from destruction. They journey through the three Londons (yes, there are parallel universes,) try to escape the wrath of magical stones, and just generally try not to rip apart the universe with all the evil magic polluting the atmosphere.

Victoria Schwab is an amazing author. The plot in A Darker Shade of Magic was riveting because it had a good balance of overall action and the characters’ inner conflict. Normally I HATE parallel universes because I just can’t follow along…it’s just not appealing. But in this book, the author gives the parallel universes a purpose beyond just being a plot device, and since the rules of the magic and the way the different cities operate is clearly defined, it’s easy to follow.

Obviously, my favorite character was Kell. And Lila. I love how Kell is loyal to the crown, but still manages to be independent. And Lila is a thief, how could she not be an awesome character? I love how in the end she is friends with Kell and ends up seeing him in the second book, but is still determined to go her own way and become a pirate.

gatheringshadows.jpg
Written by V.E. Schwab

Sadly, the second book suffered from Sequel Syndrome (or SS) which means it couldn’t measure up to the first book. It was still a really good book, but I felt that because it was longer than the first, it should’ve had as much and preferably more action than the first book. I did love Schwab’s characterization in the second book, especially Alucard Emery, so hopefully the second book was setting me up for a spectacular ending in the last book. I can’t wait to read the third book in February 2017!

My favorite quote from the first book is the first two sentences:

Kell wore a very peculiar coat. It had neither one side, which would be conventional, nor two, which would be unexpected, but several, which was, of course, impossible.

