Posted in Recipes

Richest Gingerbread Ever!

gingbread
Fresh out of the oven!

Since winter set in, I’ve been enamored with spiced desserts and gingerbread in particular. My fervor over all things gingerbread has long passed the infatuation stage,  and I can rightly say that I’m well in love with gingerbread. Before baking gingerbread I hadn’t baked with molasses, and, yeah, I love it. Currently I’m looking for more molassesy treats to incorporate into my recipe stash.

mixging
All the beautiful spices!

The first time I made the gingerbread, I didn’t add the glaze, but this time I decided to give it a try, and it was good! I was afraid of overpowering the gingerbread flavor with too much glaze, so I halved the recipe. I found that instead of overpowering the flavor, the glaze enhanced it, so next time I will definitely make the full amount.

gingfrost
Everyone was in a hurry to eat gingerbread, so I cut it before it had time to cool properly. It was crumbly, but tasty all the same!

What I love most about this recipe is the depth of the spice flavor and the crackly crust on top of the loaf.

This gingerbread is Bloody Amazing! Just make it. I promise it will brighten up your day. Except if you dislike molasses or anything spiced, in which case I am deeply sorry for your loss.

