Posted in Poetry

I Loved You – Alexander Pushkin

A few months ago I had the pleasure of reading Pushkin’s Eugene Onegin. It was the second novel in verse that I’ve ever read and I loved (excuse the pun…) how Pushkin switches between airing his own hilarious views as a narrator and then goes back to telling Onegin’s story. My favorite part was when Tatiana refused Onegin’s offer of love because she had already married and wanted to be loyal to herself and her new life. This act of loyalty is truly what makes her an admirable heroine.

I can’t wait to one day see the opera of Eugene Onegin by Tchaikovsky!

Anyway, after reading this widely acclaimed novel, I began researching the poet himself more which led me to sift through some of his other works. I came across the following poem and found it sweetly sincere so I wanted to share it with you.

I Loved You – By Alexander Pushkin

I loved you; even now I must confess,
Some embers of my love their fire retain;
But do not let it cause you more distress,
I do not want to sadden you again.
Hopeless and tongue tied, yet I loved you dearly
With pangs the jealous and the timid know;
So tenderly I love you, so sincerely,
I pray God grant another love you so.

I want to read some of his other works soon, particularly Ruslan and Ludmila because it combines two of my favorite literary genres: Epics and Fairy-Tales.

 

2 thoughts on “I Loved You – Alexander Pushkin

Comments are closed.