Posted in Poetry

Poem Post – How Doth the Little Crocodile

Ever since I was a child, I’ve been obsessed with rhymes, and so, naturally, poetry has been appealing to me my whole life. Nowadays I’m more into epics and such, but every once in a while I remember the poems I read as a kid and they put a smile on my face.

I love memorizing poetry (although I haven’t done it in a while,) and the first poem I ever memorized was How Doth the Little Crocodile by Lewis Carroll, which is surprising because I’ve never been a huge fan of Alice in Wonderland. I watched all the movies, but the book bored me to death and I couldn’t finish it.

I’ve always felt that the words Carroll uses in How Doth the Little Crocodile are perfect because the way they sound really brings this shining, sly crocodile to life.

How Doth the Little Crocodile – By Lewis Carroll

How doth the little crocodile
Improve his shining tail,
And pour the waters of the Nile
On every golden scale!

How cheerfully he seems to grin,
How neatly spreads his claws,
And welcomes little fishes in
With gently smiling jaws!

What was your favorite poem as a kid? Share in the comments! 🙂

P.S. The movie Through the Looking Glass was amazing! The set, the cinematography, the cast, and the effects were just soooo cool! I totally recommend you watch it!

