Posted in Book Reviews

The Maze Runner Series – Review

WORST. SERIES. EVER.

the-maze-runner-1The reason I read this book is because I heard of the movie and I’m a read-the-book-first-then-watch-the-movie type of person. I read the first book and didn’t like it, but began the second with the hopes it would get better. Towards the middle of the second book my courage was failing me and I was ready to give up, but then I gave myself a pep-talk and persevered till the end.

These books have no literary substance whatsoever and are very crudely written. The author uses the vocabulary of a third grader in his writing. I mean I really tried to get into it and understand the appeal, but the only positive I could find is that the plot is unique. Had Dashner made sure the plot was seamless then there could’ve been hope but unfortunately I was left with too many unanswered questions. I now know what ‘Reading Regret’ is.

The Maze Runner vs. The Maze Runner

This is the only book I’ve ever read in my life that had a better movie. I loved the actors, the setting, and the effects. To me the book is basically a movie script and there would be no real loss if the book was never written. (Although the second movie wasn’t as good as the first, it was still better than the book too.)

You shouldn’t waste your time on the books. Just go enjoy the movies.

 

 

What caught your eye?